top of page

Definitely not alone!

Mid-week! Mid-Project! Mid-life Crisis!

So this half of the week was rather eventful and somewhat exasperating and troublesome. But

before I get into that I might as well take the time to explain what happened, so get comfortable as

I’m about to tell you the story of how a young Hazrat had to wade through some high game art

tides… the first of many unfortunately!

Leaving off on a high note, I decided to keep giving the project 110% of my time. This went into

modelling smaller assets such as streets, lampposts, post-boxes and many more. This resulted in

some small scale unwrapping which was not too fussy and was rather fun.

The small street lights add a calm and ominous mood to the scene and as well as a tranquil tone to

the lighting of the city. The small post-boxes break up some of the modular buildings as well being a

monochromatic break in a polychromatic colour scheme. The plant pots also have the same effect

as well as adding a more structured and tangible shape to the buildings and roads.

The cobblestone texture of the road is done to make the town a centre piece and look somewhat old

yet have a charm to it.

When in scene I did realise that I had large spaces that look repetitive and boring, therefore I still

plan to model assets such as:

* Manholes and gutters.

*Large Ivy like plants draping down from buildings.

*Grass tufts protruding through the cracks in the sidewalks as well as in the road.

*Small bricks and rubble.

*Piping for buildings.

* Satellite dishes and wiring.

*Bars across some of the windows

*Decals for some of the buildings.

*Alpha mountains to make it look smaller.

Before I decided to model these I first went into getting the buildings textured which is where I ran into trouble with a capital T. At first when I unwrapped the modular parts and then copied them over, the unwraps where already done for them; however 3DS Max had a little brain fart and re-unwrapped and moved texture sheets over. Therefore I spent a whole day re-unwrapping everything again! From here I decided to re-import the assets into UE4 and found out the file was corrupted and I had to re-create that as well.

(

This set me back a whole two days; the game art karma had taken aim, and shot at me.

After that whole fiasco, I decided to do some basic textures. This consisted of making some brick textures and painting them with a gradient. I them proceeded to add subtle details like paint deformation and complementary colours.

Moving forward, I then decided to add surface detail to the brick by adding some wear and tear as well as some minimal noise. This gave the modular piece a more cartoonish feel.

So from here and over the weekend I will get some more models done... hopefully the ones i listed above! Otherwise I would like to also finish of these textures by Tuesday the latest. Hopefully by then I can also update you guys and gals further!

Until then!

Hazrat


My name is Hazrat Bilal and I’m a student at De Montfort University studying game art design.

 

This site will showcase some of my work both on the course and outside of the course, exploring all aspects of games art as well as design. I hope you enjoy :)

follow me
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page