top of page

FMP Conclusion

This post is a snip-it of my Final post-mortem

The full document can be read here: http://hazratbilalart.wix.com/gameart#!fmp/gbqkq

The final outcomes show a strong small level that is fun, daring and unique. In my opinion we can work on areas to get them looking stronger such as the town centre and outside the house.

I feel that we have achieved something great as a group as it shows what our collective knowledge together can do. We showcased that we can create dynamic game play, intriguing environments and cute characters in less than a year.

The level was unfortunately cut down from its intended size. This was due to time restrictions as we were too caught up in creating something fun instead of actually making it. However the puzzles we intended for future levels have been hinted at.

How it felt:

During FMP I felt like I formed a strong friendship with the guys. I felt this throughout FMP. This in turn made me want to work harder to impress them.

The work was strong and we had both ups and downs during it.

The good:

I have learnt a plethora of new skills and have developed a key understanding in:

  • level design

  • Art direction

  • Colour theory

  • 3D environmental asset creation

  • Blueprints and engine work

Personally I found the research side quite entertaining and probably one of the greatest experiences I had. Finding key design features in such things like level design and breaking them down into simple ideas was fun as it helped me learn a lot about making a game from scratch.

It also let me further pursue the MA.

I found the level design & development rather fun. This was because it bought me away from a pc and back to traditional media. I found drawing up levels and gamely rather entreating as it made me realise what factors go into creating a convincing level design and also showed me how hard it can become.

The bad:

Working in a team was usually difficult this time round.

I found working with Amber and James was fun, however due to them living under the same roof and I being in my own flat, communication would break down and they would come up with ideas without informing me. This made it hard to move forward with them as I was always two steps behind on the changes made.

I also found that the shift in ideas rather drastic. During the first one and a half months I was told to create the blueprints, do the level design and research which I was happy to do. I was not aware that Amber was strictly creating three characters and James strictly doing the rest of the engine work.

If I was told this at the start of the FMP I would have let James create the blueprints and Amber do the research, I would have focused on strictly environments from day one.

What I would have changed:

If I could change parts of my FMP I would do the following.

Firstly I would clearly find out what outcomes the group would like to achieve and pin it up, therefore looking to it whenever doubt arises.

I would also clearly state from the start of the project what my intentions are and what I wanted to focus on during the project. I would then strictly focus on them and if the time comes help the guys with their set goals.

I believe I would also take a new approach to the pipeline. I would first develop a small scene that looked good and to the best of my ability. Therefore getting the correct lighting, tone, mood and colour down.

From here I would start to spread out further and further creating more assets, more environments etc. I believe with this approach I would have a visually strong scene whatever the scale. This also allows me to develop my skills further and focus on key assets more.

I would also change the way we structured the project. In my opinion there was no prominent leader, and because I was creating environments throughout most of the project I couldn’t gage what they were working on. In short I would do better in leadership.

I would also change the pacing of the project. I found that when creating the environment the pacing slowed down. I would make breaks every three weeks where I would switch up and work on something else to stop my mind turning to mush.

Conclusion:

I believe that this project was successful. I love the outcome and the journey, however it feels semi-complete. I want to take it forward by re-modelling assets and working on the UI to make the level complete.

I also want to use a more limited colour palette more often, to do this I need to find more art forms to get influenced by. Saying this, I would also like my contextual art knowledge to further develop my outcomes.

I love stylised games and this project gave me a solid understanding of how to put them together. I believe I can further push this by creating smaller diorama projects that use stylised environments, lighting and colour.

I would even try to include game play.

Overall I feel happy with the outcome, I feel like I’ve learnt a lot about what is needed in games as well as increasing my research game. I feel like I have pushed myself and I feel like as a group we have separated from a lot of other game art students when it comes to creativity and imagination.


My name is Hazrat Bilal and I’m a student at De Montfort University studying game art design.

 

This site will showcase some of my work both on the course and outside of the course, exploring all aspects of games art as well as design. I hope you enjoy :)

follow me
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page