top of page

Time to start modelling

The modelling has finally began!

So this week I had everything in place to start modelling the assets in the level, at first it seemed easy but soon I realised I was in for a bigger battle than I had previously thought.

I started of by creating a written assets list next to my desk so I could glance over and tick things of, this made it easier to see how much I had left to complete. This also made it less stressful to think about.

From here I also decided to print some of our concepts and ideas as well as some of the key images we liked and placed them around where I sat, inspiring me when I got stuck.

I started to model the large modular assets first, this was to make the level look more defined and giving the illusion of being complete. It also helped us understand how large assets block up natural light and where the lighting and shadows would play out.

I also decided to create some of the building assets, this included the doors, windows, pipes etc. The building assets where rather simple compared to the environment assets. I found creating the stone steps and natural looking large rocks rather difficult, especially with them being stylised. Nonetheless I kept working on them and switching out whenever I couldn’t cope… which meant a lot of switching!

This was a rather progressive week as I got a handful of assets modelled and unwrapped, hopefully I can push this momentum into the upcoming week.

Haz


My name is Hazrat Bilal and I’m a student at De Montfort University studying game art design.

 

This site will showcase some of my work both on the course and outside of the course, exploring all aspects of games art as well as design. I hope you enjoy :)

follow me
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page