top of page

Texturing!

So For the first week back I decide to go heavy on the texturing and get stuck in.

I worked heavily on the tileable textures first and then I played around with the modular textures to make the scene more readable and getting the larger textures out the way makes it easier for me to see and understand the mood.

These textures are used heavily within level therefore getting them to read well and play well with each other was difficult enough. I started to block in the main colours first. referencing the colour swatches we had set ourselves and then I worked on shadows and highlights to bring out the shapes.

From here I moved on to the surface detail to emphasise the material, whether it be wood, metal or plastic.

When doing this I would constantly update the engine to see how they would come out, id find that areas would be either to bright or too dull, id find that colours did not match as well I perceived and id find that my brush strokes could easily be seen and I needed them to match other assets in the scene so they would look like a set and feel right placed next to other assets.


My name is Hazrat Bilal and I’m a student at De Montfort University studying game art design.

 

This site will showcase some of my work both on the course and outside of the course, exploring all aspects of games art as well as design. I hope you enjoy :)

follow me
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page