top of page

Highly-Stylised Environment

Project two. The shop front. Highly stylised environment. This one is a perfect pick for me, I've always played stylised games, in fact I think every game I play is stylised. For this project I would like to focus on detail in the texture and the shape and layout off the assets in the scene itself.

I started off by creating a mind map, collecting ideas of shops, art styles, art movements and location. This gives me a pool of ideas that I can dip into and to further work up.

(mind-map image)

From here I decided to create moodboards on initial ideas. Here i looked at various images and studied the semiotics and design aesthetics. So looking at the silhouettes and shapes the layout and mood portrayed by each image. From here I decided to look at cartoons, films, art movements and games, studying the styles to pick a solid idea.

My intial ideas:

Types of shops:

Art movements:

Art styles:

Colour and style:

After some thought I decided to quickly draw some of them down. These ideas were influenced by the moodboards i had created earlier in the week.

Drawings

After some advice I was told to forward with this specific image (above). From here I decided to quickly create it with basic shapes, to paintover it. However I was taking advice from a handful of people and this changed my idea to something I did not understand.

After some thought, I was told to not take some advice seriously. Which made me realise I was trying to please a lot of people.

Here are some of my iterations which were influenced by the advice taken from my friends, as you can see it moved from my original idea quite a bit!


My name is Hazrat Bilal and I’m a student at De Montfort University studying game art design.

 

This site will showcase some of my work both on the course and outside of the course, exploring all aspects of games art as well as design. I hope you enjoy :)

follow me
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page