top of page

Stylised Shop Front

Continuing from last week, I finished of my textures and started to correct some features in the model as well as go over the model in more detail both inside and outside, adding more dents, cuts bolts and grooves.

The final outcomes came out nicely; I believe the idea was portrayed well considering the fact that I changed the idea mid way. I believe I have stuck to the brief completely; the style that I have gone for is iconic and works well. The texturing went extremely well and so did the modelling, Hand painted textures were heavily influenced by artist such as Ian Mcque and games like Borderlands

The most stressful point in this project was the iteration stages in 3DS Max. I had found that taking people’s ideas on board changed the outcome completely; therefore I had to pick said ideas wisely. The project could have taken a downward turn if I proceeded with trying to make everyone happy.

This was corrected when I couldn’t see the outcome of my project in my mind, I knew it was going to go horribly if I didn’t change it and stick to my own ideas.

I have found that hand painting textures are rather fun and come naturally to me, this is due to the fact that I have a heavy art background. I have also found that the stylised briefs have also allowed me to dive deeper into art history and movements; it has also allowed me to use them more in my work without having to explain too much.

Some negative point I could point out were that I was trying to please everyone by taking their ideas forward instead my own, this made for an incomplete and rather horrid concoction. Taking other peoples advice is good; however some people get annoyed when you don’t take their advice, but who are they to say what you can and can’t do? Unless they’re your art director.

I can apply my new knowledge and wisdom of texturing and modelling, as well as my new found knowledge in engine. I would also apply the idea that taking advice can both be helpful and harmful.

This project was a success! I felt proud with the exterior of the shop especially with eh texturing as it looks and feels grungy and outdated, people instantly recognise the style and it leaves an impression on others. Something I have been trying to achieve for a while.


My name is Hazrat Bilal and I’m a student at De Montfort University studying game art design.

 

This site will showcase some of my work both on the course and outside of the course, exploring all aspects of games art as well as design. I hope you enjoy :)

follow me
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page