top of page

Isometric level Design, analysing art

So for the final project I have decided to go for a concept art project; however I will model the scene just for fun! This will hopefully allow me to get to grips with the assets and level design side as

well as the environment modelling side too!

So the isometric brief states that I have to concept six levels for an isometric game, preferably a mobile game. So isometric games ideally have the camera at a 45 by 30 degree angle, this allows the scene to view from a specific angle and nothing but it.

This got me thinking of how the game is portrayed and how the style of these types of games is seen due to these strict limitations.

So I started to create a mind map and start to mood board my ideas.

As per usual when creating a project I like to create a mind-map or thought bubble, whatever you prefer. Here I decided to look at a variety of things that are influential to me, for example art movements, Architecture, games etc.

Initially, when I started to look at isometric games, I came across the most generic and iconic styles. This got me excited as I realised I could create something along those lines and this would make my work as iconic. So I started to create a mood board with the most common styles and I came across some rather fascinating styles.

One of the most interesting styles was the super-low poly style that seems at first glance to be pixelated .This style has a rather structured layout that seems busy and chaotic but versatile. The target audience for these games are usually an older audience, those who can appreciate the old ways. They are also the most colourful of the lot, being quite garish compared to the simplistic geometric isometric games.

The geometric isometric games are colourful yet muted, these are rather harmonious and mid-key. They are rather non-linear and follow a certain theme that makes them minimal and unique. They would fall under the indie style of artistic games, this got me thinking about indie games and how as an artist I love showing the contextual, historical side of art through my assets. But I was set on making an artist isometric game… as per usual!

When looking at games I decided to study a broad variety, I began by looking at games that are no way near the isometric style. This was to look at shapes and colour and how they come across as artistic games.

In the first column we have: The Witness, The Banner Saga, Journey and No Mans Sky. These games have bright garish colours that are attributed by the sky light in the game. They are high-key and set a more playful mood that works with the simplistic style. This makes them fluid and linear and follows the theme all the way through.

The second Colum is made of games that are astheically fascinating. The list is composed of: Trine, Bastion, Mirrors edge mobile edition and Firewatch. These games use colour to set a tone and mood as well as a theme. This is done by using colour schemes that harmonious yet balanced, so no colour stands out above the other. As well as this, the shapes used are geometric and symmetrical, making the levels quite busy and repetitive.

The final column is highly stylised to the point that they their art style is iconic and works only with them, this gives them an abstract theme that is easily recognisable. These games are also indie games. The list consists of: Hunting Anubis, The Wall Shall Stand, Manifold Garden and Below.

These games also have a strong colour scheme associated with them, most of them use a harmonious colour scheme that seems muted and limited yet has pop colours that set the tone and mood. This also gives these games a minimalist feel as well as a linear theme.

Overall, I feel these games, especially the last column are rather subtle and symbolic, the impact these games have on mobile platforms hit a certain demographic that I would like to also hit with my concepts.

After reviewing my initial ideas and games moodboards, I realised that I had a prominent art style I was sublimely influenced by. So I decided to create a mood board to show the differences in ideas and to get straight to what I liked. I began with the styles that I would least likely use, being the bottom left hand side and the bottom middle. I do like these styles, but they are overplayed and used again and again, therefore I see them as the easiest things to go for.

The Top left style is subtle using the low poly style, yet it still has that cartoonish, child friendly feel to it. I feel like the vibrant colours and blocky style is too reminiscent of Minecraft and games like such, this makes it rather difficult to make something out of it that cannot be directly related to it.

The right hand side conisists of designs that are geometric and composed in and aesthetically pleasing way. The mood and tone feels ordered yet is asymmetrical and minimalistic, this gives it a chaotic feeling that is unique and has a strong impact.

The somewhat asymmetrical style is direct and feels like it would make a great roof-top style, Russian-constrictivism influenced game that would be heavily influenced by the sharp geo-metric shapes and brutalist architecture.

Following on from my research into the art style and the conclusion I came too, I decided to investigate further into the architectural style I could use for some of these rooftop buildings and isometric levels.

I started by looking at brutalist architecture and how the buildings seem tactile and busy, they don’t flow but they are quite chaotic and impactful. This gives the game or scene a neo-noir dystopian future, which is industrial and colourless. A rather thought-provoking idea.

As well as the brutalist architecture I decided to look deeper into building structure, especially scaffolding. The chaotic and busy layout is rather hard to follow with the eye, however the lack of colour makes the shapes pop and with goo composition the scene feels symmetrical, especially witht eh shadows of some of the scaffoldings and crane pieces.

Finally I studied lighting and shadows that I could apply to the isometric levels. This was an insight into the unique shapes created by light and how light effects certain areas of buildings adding to the dark ne-noir feel I am going for. As well as the good composition and symmetrical feel the images have to them, they also feel cold and rather sinister due to the lack of colour.

I have found that the sharp and geometric shapes of the buildings follow the theme I wish to go for, now however I need to look at colour and much I should and shouldn’t use.

Reviewing the moodboard’s I have already created I decided to colour pick certain images that had attractive colours schemes, I investigated further into them analytically.

I have found that the majority of images use a garish colour schemes that’s quite uplifting and follows the bubbly theme of their games, however the geometric art styles and minimal colour schemes seem the most attractive. The dark and muted colour schemes are rather mid-key and have a pastel feel to them, making them harmonious yet dark and dull, thus setting the mood and tone of the game. This also adds to the linear narratives will be rather gloomy and dark.

After this I quickly blocked out a rooftop scene and started to apply the colours that I had come across and decided to create a palette of my own. This went rather well; nevertheless I had come across some issues with my initial idea. I realised that the camera angle looked better in my head and made my block out level seem uneasy and boring.

This got me thinking.

I started to look at other types of games, more so puzzle games and how they’ve been influenced by artist such as M.C. Escher. His work got me thinking about puzzle games done with an isometric style, so games such as Monument Valley. It hit me, could I use this style to with the Russian constructivist style I had decided to use earlier??

So I started to create an Escher style illusion in 3DS max and worked it into the level design and it came out rather well. I have found that the level looks more interact and complete, it feels like a game and more complete, yet it lacks game play assets so I decided to add them in.

The 3D model i created:

So from here the game play has changed too. The point of the game is to switch off the propaganda billboards and cove the posters with anti-war and anarchy posters in the right order, dodge the distractions and traps in a limited amount of time before they get you.

Overall I am happy with this new roof block out and less we forget this is a concept project, therefore this is one of six levels, two roofs, two interiors, two ground base levels... hopefully!

Next week I hope to block out the rest of the levels as well as start the paint over’s! Hopefully this goes all to plan and I can start to fully model one of these levels and get it on to Sketchfab to show you guys!

Until then, Thanks for reading!

Haz.


My name is Hazrat Bilal and I’m a student at De Montfort University studying game art design.

 

This site will showcase some of my work both on the course and outside of the course, exploring all aspects of games art as well as design. I hope you enjoy :)

follow me
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page