top of page

Isometric puzzle, second week!!

So this week I decided to model all of my levels just to paint over them, I did this so i could understand the concept to 3D workflow. This was done also to allow me to go back, unwrap and texture one of the scenes I see fit.

The point of this isometric game was all about anti-government and anti-establishment. Imagine living in a world where everyone was brought up to be the same, the free individual mind would’ve been beaten into being the same. The unsung hero of this game is our young free minded friend who has been bought up in a modern alternate universe where communism meets the Nazi was of life and became the predominant political movement. The Russian empire has taken over and the brutalist ways have been in use since the Nazis won world war 2.

The point of this puzzle game is to find a way to turn off the propaganda and show the world the meaning to be free in such an industrial world. Each puzzle has a specific route and is timed, therefore you have a limited time to complete each isometric puzzle before you get caught by the guards or the system.

The idea is to turn off the propaganda with switches as well as cover various posters with your own. All whilst avoiding the obstacles, evading the guards and within a strict time limit... not too difficult!

Here are the six levels I have chosen to do.

*Small rooftop level.

This is small level done near the start. This is to understand the basis of the game as well as understand the mechanics and time.

*Large rooftop level.

This level would be near the start as well however it will come at least near the end of the first act of the game. The more complicated puzzles and mechanics will come to life. It will have a more interacted and linear approach.

*Interior level.

This level would be part of the second act of the game. It will allow the player to evade guards as well as use the importation found inside the corporation buildings to understand the system itself.

*Interior vent level.

A small mini game done in the second act of the game.

* The player’s room.

A room played right at the start if the game, just to het a feel for the character.

*Boss level

A boss level played at the end of the first of the game.

When doing these renders, I ran into some issues. One of the main issues was the size of the renders. I had found that it would take almost up to three hours just to finish a one render let alone six. This gave me the great idea of setting up a render farm... therefore logging into six computers and making each one render one of the levels overnight.

However the following morning the files had corrupted and I had to start again. This resulted in almost a week’s worth of work lost in a single night.....But I’m not the complaining type so I moved forward and recreated them and re-rendered them to the best of my abilities.

From here I started to paint the first level. Here is a sneak peak.

So this week was a painful fiasco, nevertheless as Rocky Balboa once said:

”But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. That's how winning is done!”

Yes, I just quoted Rocky.

So from here hopefully I should be able to get the rest of these concepts done for Friday... Hopefully.

Until then, Thanks for reading!

Haz.


My name is Hazrat Bilal and I’m a student at De Montfort University studying game art design.

 

This site will showcase some of my work both on the course and outside of the course, exploring all aspects of games art as well as design. I hope you enjoy :)

follow me
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page